Cisco UCS C Series CIMC – KVM Console Java Error Message:

The joys of working with Cisco UCS technology. Today, I was attempting to do what one would think would be a very, very basic task – gain CIMC access to a UCS C Series server from a new VM. This new VM is running Windows Server 2008 R2 64 Bit.

My first issue was when I attempt to “Launch KVM Console” and received the following error message:
“The KVM Viewer requires Java 1.6.0_14 or higher. Please install or enable Java and try again.”

I realized that this was a freshly baked VM that had no Java installed so I grabbed the following file:
jre-7u55-windows-x64.exe given that my OS was 64bit. Well…..that didn’t help one bit as I got the same error message.

Then I found this great link that was a direct hit with my issue.
http://terenceluk.blogspot.com/2010/11/cisco-ucs-c-series-server-cimcs-launch.html

He does a fine job of documenting the issues he runs into and I’ve referred to his website on several other occasions. I uninstall my 64 bit JRE and installed this 32 bit version jre-7u51-windows-i586.exe.

The above error was resolved and I was on my way………………………………..until the following error appeared:
“Certificate has been revoked. The application will not be executed.”

Which brought me to the following great link:
http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/unified_computing/ucs/release/notes/OL-26648-01.html
Symptom KVM console fails to launch and displays the following Java exception error:
Certificate has been revoked
sun.security.validator.ValidatorException: PKIX path validation failed:
java.security.cert.CertPathValidatorException: Certificate has been revoked
Workaround On the client system, disable the Java configuration parameters from Java control panel do the following:
Step 1 Go to Advanced > Security > General
Step 2 Check certificates for revocation using CRL
Step 3 Enable online certificate validation

The above error was resolved and I was on my way………………………………..until the following error appeared:
“CIMC – The maximum number of user sessions has been reached. ”

Which brought me to the following great link:
http://serverchronicle.blogspot.com/2011/11/cisco-ucs-maximum-number-of-user.html

So much for the easy task of running the CIMC KVM Console!

Good Luck,

Amir

About Amir Safayan

I live with my family in beautiful Colorado. We have a basset / beagle named Cisco. We board / ski, ride dirtbikes, RV and enjoy living in the Western US. I've done R/S, security, wireless, IPT and am now focused on virtualization technologies on the High Touch Team for Shoregroup.com, a large Cisco reseller.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cisco UCS C Series CIMC – KVM Console Java Error Message:

  1. Thank you sooo much for posting this. I’m running into the same issue trying to upgrade CIMC. There’s a new feature coming out from Cisco that will allow sending of e-mail from the CIMC when it detects a problem on the host. IN preparation for this release we should all get familiar with the process. Cisco has a video on the general upgrade process at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-kBN3UemAQo&t=312s

    However, as you’ve pointed out, nothing is ever easy with UCS. Cisco always insists on using Java instead of just writing native applications in C++ and Objective C.

    So, in order to solve the certificate issue mentioned above, where launching KVM fails with an error about revoked certificate, I found that you have to disable all security checks in the Java control panel.

    Examples:
    • Perform TLS certificate revocation checks on (Check ‘Do not check’)
    • Perform signed code certificate revocation checks on (Check ‘Do not check’)

    This leaves your OS vulnerable so one would want to use a throwaway VM to do this work.

Leave a Reply

